Rant: Lack of stock at book stores

Literally 1st world problem, am I right? But still,  feel like venting my frustrations and if it’s about books I’ll do it here.

I live 2 miles away from my town’s Barnes and Noble. It is the only new books bookstore in town. So when a new book comes out I expect it to be there, especially if it’s a book with a lot of hype around it. However, recently I’ve found it pretty hard to find new books at my local bookstore. Obviously, it means I either have to order online or just request it from the library. But I enjoy seeing a book I enjoy or look forward to on the bookshelf.

Now I realize that these books either didn’t have the release to be sent to my bookstore, or the person ordering didn’t think they would be purchased here. However, it’s sad and I know that either way the culprit is online shopping (AMAZON). I want to buy books from my physical bookstore because I LOVE shopping for books and I LOVE my book store.

Here are a few books I looked for but couldn’t find on the shelves of my local bookstore.

Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit – even though it said it was in stock, not actually in stock.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson – Also “In Stock” but not really, actually finding any graphic novel I want is a pain and a half to find.

The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers by JRR Tolkien – There’s a specific edition I bought the first and third in and figured I’d just wait a week until they received the second book in the same edition. It’s been 2 years and they still don’t have it.

Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Ukparanta – I finally just asked for this for my birthday 7 months after it came out.

Girl Through Glass by Sari Wilson – I just got this from the library.

The Regional Office Is Under Attack – This is a very recent release but I’ve been checking weekly for my local store to get it. It has FEMALE. ASSASSINS. Everyone will enjoy it obviously. This may be another book I need to check out at the library.

Basically this is a rant, that’s all. I’ve turned to the library to get the books I really want and if I want to own it I just order online. Anyone else get upset when you can’t find a new release at the bookstore or library? Please let me know so I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

