Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – Wrap Up

Well, it is 9am the next morning and I definitely have a reading hangover.  The later it got the more I noticed an irritation on my left hand from holding the end of the books between my thumb and pointer finger, my first readathon wound! At 11:30 last night I was pretty near exhausted so I decided to take a nap, I woke up 2 hours later still exhausted and transferred to my bed.  I did bring the two books I was still reading with me because apparently I am an optimist when I’m half asleep. I woke up at 7:40 with no regrets on sleeping for the last 6 hours of the readathon.

How did I do? Well I read for 10 hours during the readathon which was my goal, even though I hoped I could get some more in. I read 638 pages during those 10 hours and completed 3 books. I’m still in the middle of The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland and Lumberjanes.  I really thought my desire for Lumberjanes would help me read longer but the desire for sleep was too strong. I plan on reading Lumberjanes today and maybe Nimona as well. I also want to finish The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland before I move on to another book.

I did not touch That Thing Around Your Neck or The Haunting of Hill House but I’m ok with that. I still got a lot of reading done and didn’t over snack too much which is what I was really worried about. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some garbage to take out and a lot of dishes to clean. Happy Sunday!

Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 1 because I’ve never woken up in time to start right at the beginning, I did it this year finally!
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Suspense books are great, I was reading Dark Places and even though I had to take breaks I didn’t want to put it down. Anything where you have to keep reading to find out the answer is a great way to push forward.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Maybe a list of booktubers’ videos about the readathon? I found that when I needed a break from reading I just wanted to watch videos of other people participating, if there was a place where those videos were easily accessible it’d be a lot of fun. I know some people used videos as their submissions for these types of posts but its hard to find with all the other blog posts.
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Coffee, well planned food ahead of time (well mostly well planned) and comfy places to sit. I really liked the hourly posts to go to during my breaks and the chance to check in on other readers participating.
How many books did you read?  I finished 3 books and started 2 others, so five books total.
What were the names of the books you read? I finished Dark Places by Gillian Flynn, Step Aside, Pops by Kate Beaton, and Ms. Marvel Vol 3 Crushed by Willow Wilson. I started Lumberjanes Vol 2 by Noelle Stevenson and The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland by Catherine M. Valente.
Which book did you enjoy most? Dark Places was the most exciting because of the suspense. This was the second book I’ve read by Gillian Flynn and it did not disappoint.
Which did you enjoy least? I really did not get in to The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland which is why I started it and then moved to Lumberjanes so quickly.  I do want to give it another go but yesterday I was not feeling it.
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will definitely participate again.  I may try to be a cheerleader in the future but it depends on what my day looks like in 6 months.

Leave a Reply

