Spring Readathon 2014 – Memes

Beginning of Event Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?  Sioux Falls, SD
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Ajax Penumbra 1969
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Wedding Cake (yes, I have a wedding today!)
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I want to be an ordained minister one day but for now I’m stuck in the cycle of retail work so books are my escape from the big scary grown up world I’m convinced I can’t be old enough for yet.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? Last time I was just trying to finish Anna Karenina, so I spent basically the whole time just reading that massive brick.  This time I’ve got my main read, Life of Pi, but I also have some short novella’s and an audiobook (for when I HAVE to drive somewhere) to help break up the day better.

 

Mid-Event Meme
1. What are you reading right now? Cinder by Marissa Meyer and Life of Pi by Yann Martel
2. How many books have you read so far?  1 1/2
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Finishing Cinder
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? I’m done with my scheduled stuff so now I just have to read until I pass out.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? My friend’s wedding was this afternoon, so I listened to an audiobook on my way there, enjoyed the party and listened some more on the way home.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How easily it is to finish a book in a day.  I don’t do it often.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Everything seems to be working great for me!
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Clear my schedule, and pick out a bunch of short books.
9. Are you getting tired yet? Not even.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Stay comfy, ignore the call of the internet (as much as possible).

End of Event Meme

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? The hour when I wanted to sleep but wanted to read more.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Reading novellas was a good way to keep reading interesting stories but also switch it up a lot.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Get rid of the night time portion.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The cheerleaders were great, I saw some real support on my post and other blogs.
5. How many books did you read? 3
6. What were the names of the books you read? Ajax Penumbra 1969, Cinder, and Life of Pi
7. Which book did you enjoy most? Ajax Penumbra 1969 which seemed very fitting since it was all about books.
8. Which did you enjoy least? Life of Pi but I still really enjoyed it.  I didn’t suffer through any books this year.
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Most definitely and I might try my hand at Cheerleading next time.

8 thoughts on “Spring Readathon 2014 – Memes

  1. It sounds like you have some good reading ahead of you! Wedding cake does sound delicious! I hope that you are having lots of fun with some really great books!

    Happy Reading

    *Team Wordsworth

Leave a Reply

