Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Image

So I only first heard of Ender’s Game about 5 years ago and have had it on my to-read list since then. 5 years later, I finally get around to reading it. I bought it on a massive 1/2 off Nook sale and since I was across the country, thousands of miles from my books I had no choice but to read through a bunch of my nook books, thank God.  I’m so glad I can say that I’ve read this now because I enjoyed it so much. You could tell if you check my Goodreads because I gave this book 5 stars, I loved it.

In case you are like I was only a few years ago and you don’t know about this book, Ender’s Game is a science fiction book about Ender Wiggin. Ender is the third child in the Wiggin family, which earns him the negative nickname “Third”.  This is because overpopulation has lead to a law of two children per family but the Wiggin family is special. Ender’s older brother and sister are extremely smart as is he, and were considered for Battle School to become members and commanders of the human army against an alien race known as the Buggers.  Since his brother was too aggressive and his sister was too passive, both were passed up for the chance to study, but Ender was the perfect mix of both and brought to Battle School and set up to be the commander of the entire human army for the third wave of the war with the Buggers.

We follow Ender’s time through Battle School and while most of it is seen from his perspective we get small glimpses into the goings on of the heads of Battle School and some view into life on Earth from Ender’s sister, Valentine.  These views combined with the what we learn from Ender’s perspective gives the reader a pretty complete view of what is actually happening on Earth and what countries and governments look like in this future time.  I was grateful for the knowledge but it was never too much, there were still enough questions to keep me reading until the end.  Overall this books shows the line of an open and honest government and governments that hide information for the good of their people. The people in charge are almost always lying even when they’re revealing important information, which definitely brings the story in such an interesting place.

On its own, this book is so good, although I’m sure the entire series gives more to the story. Also I’m extremely intrigued by the Shadow series because Bean was such a fun, firecracker and I loved seeing his relationship with Ender evolve, I’d love to see more of his life and experiences.

When it comes down to it, space is just so fun to read about.  This is the first, no love story, all boy, action book I’ve gotten to read in a while, and I think that’s what was so nice for me. The space travel in the book was interesting to read about and so many years and months fly by in a few pages.  I got carried away by this book and am so glad I did.

7 thoughts on “Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

  1. Pingback: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card | Todd DeanTodd Dean

    • I definitely would like to in the future since I enjoyed Ender’s Game so much. Luckily Ender’s Game ends so nicely that I don’t feel it necessary to dive right into the rest of the series right away.

  2. Pingback: Shadow Puppets, Orson Scott Card (TOR, 2003 {Macmillan Audio, Narrator: Stephan Rudniki and others}) | The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans

  3. I’m on Team Panda for Readathon, here to cheer you on! Not sure if you’re participating, but I hope that you are! I’ll be back later, but until then, Rah-Rah-Readathon! 😉

  4. Pingback: Ender’s Game – Book Review | teacupsandthings

Leave a Reply

